ole's Successful 'red dot' Artist Development Program Signs 'on the spot' Winner Katia Zuccarelli

Katia Zuccarelli signs her ole red dot development deal after the inaugural 'on the spot' competition. Left to right: ole Vice President, Corporate Affairs and Development Gilles Godard; ole songwriter and 'on the spot' judge April Geesbregh; ole Chairman and CEO Robert Ott; Katia Zuccarelli; ole General Manager, Nashville Creative John Ozier; ole Creative Director Ben Strain; and ole Creative Manager Emily Mueller.
ole, the world's fastest growing independent rights management company, and its successful red dot artist development program, which has led to major-label deals for ole songwriters Josh Dorr and Charlie Worsham, has signed Katia Zuccarelli after she was named the winner of ole's inaugural on the spot competition during CCMA Country Music Week. Zuccarelli received glowing critiques from the event's panel of expert judges, winning a deal with red dot worth up to $40,000 that includes music publishing, EP recording production, YouTube audio-visual management, and support from ole's world-class creative staff.

red dot brings together ole's broad infrastructure in support of talented developing artists, providing instant exposure and opportunities in a business where the development process often takes years. on the spot is a new addition to this initiative that enhances ole's already formidable cross-border capabilities in Canada and the U.S. In addition to Dorr and Worsham, the program is also developing artists such as Sam Grow, Haley Reinhart, Jordan Davis, and more.

"Katia is a promising songwriter and performer, and we at ole are looking forward to developing her to her full potential as part of red dot," said John Ozier, GM of Nashville Creative at ole. "With nine straight CCMA Awards for Music Publishing Company of the Year, ole has the international clout to help developing artists break through on both sides of the U.S.-Canada border. red dot is already responsible for building the careers of some of the biggest names in country music, growing their fanbases, providing widespread exposure for their songs, and charting the course to major-label deals. We look forward to continuing that tradition."

on the spot was held on Saturday, September 12, at The Dome in Halifax, NS, featuring live performances from eight contestants who were selected. Entrants were required to submit two YouTube videos to the official on the spot website for consideration, one in which they performed an original song and another in which they played a cover song from the ole catalog.

In addition, ole and ole current songwriters Gord Bamford, George Canyon, Jordan McIntosh, and Lindi Ortega as well as legacy writers Jeff Coplan and Dean Brody earned 16 nominations at this year's CCMA Awards. ole itself won its ninth straight Music Publishing Company of the Year Award, which is the longest streak for any publisher, major or independent. ole Chairman and CEO Robert Ott also received the 2015 Leonard T. Rambeau International Award, which recognizes an individual who has demonstrated extraordinary effort in assisting the aims and initiatives of the Canadian country music industry internationally.