ole Signs Songwriting Ace Jeff Trott

From left: David Weitzman (ole, VP Business Development), songwriter Jeff Trott, and Bennett Kaufman (Maverick Entertainment).
TORONTO, ON (January 26, 2016) – ole, the world's fastest growing independent rights management company, has signed a co-publishing agreement and catalog purchase with acclaimed songwriter Jeff Trott. Jeff's credits include chart-topping singles "If It Makes You Happy," "Every Day Is a Winding Road," Soak Up the Sun," "My Favorite Mistake," and "There Goes the Neighborhood" for Sheryl Crow and numerous other successful co-writes.

"Jeff Trott is a musician's musician who writes songs that connect with artists and music lovers worldwide. He is one of those writer/musicians that when other musicians see his name in the credits, they know it's quality," said David Weitzman, Vice President of Business Development at ole. "We are so pleased to welcome Jeff to the ole family, and with his versatile songwriting abilities being fluent in pop, country, and indie rock, he has connected with our creative staff and our existing songwriter roster. We very much look forward to being Jeff's publishing partner in the next chapter of his storied career."

"I've been kicking around the songwriting scene for a while now and have always been impressed by ole's song-first philosophy," said Trott. "I know they will do everything they can to keep my music alive so I can focus on making more."

Originally from San Francisco, Trott got his start with post-punk outfit The Lifers and also performed with 415/Columbia recording artists Wire Train. In 1990, he joined U.K. cult favorite World Party and played on their critically acclaimed album Goodbye Gumbo. Since then, Trott has written and played on every album by GRAMMY-winning artist Sheryl Crow and produced tracks on her multi-Platinum albums C'mon, C'mon and Wildflower. He has also written with Colbie Caillat, Jason Mraz, John Paul White of Civil Wars, Augustana, Rob Thomas, Cider Sky, Guster, Natasha Bedingfield, Michelle Branch, Meiko, Holly Conlan, Liz Phair, Roger Daltrey for The Who, Joe Cocker, Stevie Nicks, Counting Crows, Marc Broussard, and many others, earning a BMI Songwriter of the Year award in 1998. Trott also wrote and toured with Tears for Fears and has written popular songs "Thrill of It" by Robert Randolph and "Daylight the Dog" by O.A.R. He was also nominated for an Emmy Award for writing and producing the theme song for The Katie Show and has produced the soundtrack for indie movie Janie Jones and scored the short animated film Horse. He recorded and produced his first solo album, Dig Up the Astroturf, in 2000.

About ole:

ole is one of the world's foremost rights management companies with investments of over $500M in music intellectual property (IP). Founded in 2004, with operations in Toronto, Nashville, New York, Los Angeles and London, ole is engaged in IP acquisitions, creative development, and worldwide rights management. The ole catalog includes over 50,000 songs and 60,000 hours of TV and film music across all genres. Copyrights under ole's control include songs recorded by artists such as the Backstreet Boys, Beyoncé, Blake Shelton, Britney Spears, Carrie Underwood, Eric Church, Jay Z, Justin Timberlake, Kelly Clarkson, Madonna, Michael Jackson, One Direction, Rihanna, Rush, Taylor Swift, and Timbaland. ole controls substantial A/V music and secondary rights including catalogs from Sony Pictures Entertainment, MGM, Miramax, Nelvana, and Nu Image/Millennium. Jingle Punks, the Production Music division of ole, provides quality content and service to creators in all media with over 400,000 tracks in its library.

ole is committed to the creative development of its 120+ staff songwriters, legacy writers, and composers and adding value to our catalogs and client catalogs. Current ole writers include Timbaland, Tyler Farr, Josh Dorr, Gord Bamford, Brett Jones, Jeremy Stover, Marty Dodson, Phil O'Donnell, Jordan Davis, and Ian Thornley. ole has ongoing ventures with Last Gang Publishing, Roots Three Music, Jackoby Publishing, and most recently, ole-Bluestone Publishing, ole's venture with global hitmaker Timbaland. ole's legacy catalogs and writers include Rush, Max Webster, Coney Hatch, and Ian Thomas.

ole also operates a robust label services arm under the umbrella of ole label services. The division includes Anthem Entertainment Group, the label home of Rush as well as Big Wreck, Ian Thornley, Steven Page, The Tea Party, Anthem Legacy; Max Webster, Ian Thomas, and artist development label red dot, which has developed and upstreamed artists including Charlie Worsham, Haley Reinhart, Josh Dorr, Sam Grow, and Jordan Davis.

ole Digital is a full YouTube MCN partner for all media with over 5B views across publishing, masters and A/V to date.

ole is proud to be associated with its bank partners SunTrust, JP Morgan, City National Bank, CIT Finance, Fifth Third Bank, and Avenue Bank.

For more information, visit www.majorlyindie.com.

Twitter: @olemajorlyindie
Facebook: -ole-

Media Contact:
Laurie Jakobsen
Jaybird Communications