Michael McCarty Joins ole as President


 Michael McCarty Named President of ole

TORONTO: ole, one of the world's largest independent music publishers, with operations in Los Angeles, Nashville and Toronto, is pleased to announce that music publishing veteran, Michael McCarty, has joined ole as President. McCarty comes to ole with over 20 years experience in music publishing, most recently as President of EMI Publishing Canada, a position he held for 15 years.

In making the announcement, ole Chairman and CEO, Robert Ott, said, "The entry of Michael as President marks a new era in the evolution of ole and we are fortunate to add an executive of his experience and integrity to our operation. Michael is a bona fide music publisher with a real passion for songs and Creative development and we look forward to his contribution to ole's continued growth."

McCarty says of joining the company, "ole is a remarkably unique, fast growing and forward thinking company that is well positioned to thrive in the future. I am thrilled to be joining them, and look forward to the challenge of leading their dynamic team." 

Michael began his career as a recording engineer and producer working with the legendary record producers Jack Richardson (The Guess Who) and Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper, Peter Gabriel). He then progressed rapidly to Creative Manager at ATV Music Group Canada to CBS/SBK to A&R Director of SBK Records and Publishing in LA.  In 1992, McCarty was named President of EMI Music Publishing Canada. 

He has played a key role in the development of the careers of such artists and songwriters as Sum 41, Three Days Grace, Billy Talent, Alexisonfire, City and Colour, Esthero, Gavin Brown, Wilson Phillips, Matthew Good, Lukas Rossi, Moist and Len and was involved in the direct signing of Nelly Furtado to a US deal.

McCarty is an influential member of the publishing community. He is a member of the Board of Directors of SOCAN, the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA), the Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency (CMRRA), and was a founding director of the Canadian Songwriters Hall Of Fame. He is also a past nominee for The Premiere's award, which recognizes outstanding contributions community college graduates make to their communities and the province of Ontario.

 McCarty, who will start on July 6, 2009, will oversee the company's day-to-day operations from ole's head office in Toronto.


 about ole

ole is one of the world's largest independent, full-service music publishers, with offices in Toronto , Nashville and Los Angeles . ole boasts a team of 27 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and worldwide administration.

The ole catalog includes over forty thousand songs and thirty thousand hours of TV music across all genres.

Staff songwriters and composers include: Jack Lenz, Gerald O'Brien, Mark J. Feist, JC Smith, Rupert Gayle, Tebey, Gilles Godard, Rebecca Everett, Mladen, Willie Mack, Kelly Archer, and Roger Springer. ole also administers for songwriters David Kopatz and Dr. Alex Tsisserev of Mad Love Music.

ole co-ventures include Last Gang Publishing, representing artists Mother Mother, O'Luge, Rides Again, Let's Go To War, Panurge, Murray Yates (Forty Foot Echo), and Silver Starling and Magneta Lane . Nashville-based co-venture Roots Three Music includes songwriters Chris Thorsteinson, Murray Pulver and Dave Wasyliw of Doc Walker, Steven Lee Olsen, Denny Carr, and Kaci Bolls. ole's urban co-venture with Tanjola (formerly ib Entertainment) has brought Dru, Alonzo, Haydain Neale, Alex Greggs and Shiloh to the roster.

Notable copyrights for ole include the Taylor Swift singles "White Horse", "Tim McGraw," "Picture To Burn" and the iTunes No. 1 Selling Country Song of 2007 "Teardrops On My Guitar", Kelly Clarkson's Billboard #1 single "Miss Independent", "Can't Hold Us Down" by Christina Aguilera and Lil' Kim, "Cause A Scene" by Teairra Mari featuring Flo Rida, "Black Velvet" by Alannah Myles, Craig Morgan's "That's What I Love About Sunday" (2005 Billboard Country Song of the Year), "Shoes" by Shania Twain (from the album Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives), Sean Paul's "Change the Game", Trace Adkins' "High", "Long Black Train" by Josh Turner, and "It Was Me" by George Strait.. Recent ole cuts include "After Tonight" by Justin Nozuka, "You Got Me Runnin" performed by Doman + Gooding and written by Dru and Rupert Gayle, "Streetlights" performed by Kevin Borg and written by Steven Lee Olsen, "Lies" performed by Martina McBride and written by Gerald O'Brien, "Goodbye, You Suck" by Shiloh and five songs on the latest Road Hammers album, Road Hammers II.