Based in Vancouver, British Columbia, Murray Yates career took off in 2000 when a song he submitted to a Vancouver radio station was immediately added to the playlist. As a result, Yates' electronic-driven rock band Templar hit the ground running, scoring a deal with EMI Music Canada, releasing the album Under The Sun and striking radio pay dirt with the single "Here We Go." Yates then switched gears by founding the earthier, harder-rocking band Forty Foot Echo, and signed with Hollywood Records in the U.S.

Forty Foot Echo issued its self-titled debut in 2003 and provided the song "Brand New Day" for the Freaky Friday film soundtrack starring Jamie Lee Curtis. The band then released its sophomore effort, Aftershock in 2007 on Yates' own Warner-distributed Echoman Records.